Posted by: pswi60 | October 2, 2007

Unreal Tournament 3 Delayed Until 2008

UT2k3*Update: According to this article over at 1up.com, the reason why the ps3 version of Unreal has been further delayed was due to the dev team having issues with the unreal engine on the ps3. Apparently they didn’t realize they have to compile the code for each SPU seperately.

Today, Midway announced that Unreal Tournament 3 will not be released for the PS3 until the first quarter of 2008…..wow. What can be said? Surely Sony and other 3rd party game developers are aware of the Halo flood (no pun intended) and are scared of releasing a game right now. I mean, I own a ps3 and i would certainly not purchase UT3 right now when i’ve got Halo 3 to keep me busy.

Also of note in the press release: Stranglehold for the ps3 will not be released until Q4 of 07, and they also lowered sales estimates for Blacksite: Area 51 for both consoles.

I think this will be a coming trend as more AAA titles are release. There is only so much room for games on gamers shelves, and in order to hit the numbers promised to investors, 1st and 3rd party devs are going to need strategic release strategies in order to maximize sales. Looks like the d3laystation holds up to its moniker once again…..

Responses

  1. WOW! I didn’t know that Stranglehold was being delayed for the PS3! Not that I have a PS3, or a burning interest to immediately get Stranglehold, I still find that surprising.

    Anyway, I completely agree with you: Even if UT happened to come out this year, there’d be no way in hell I’d be getting it—not with Halo 3 out and Mass Effect just around the corner. Throw in Virtua Fighter 5 and I have little time for any other games. Mercenaries 2 was delayed recently, and I couldn’t be more happy about that. It’s a game I’m highly anticipating, and yet I know I wouldn’t have time to play it had it come out this year. The only upside to it being released now is that it would surely be cheaper by the time I’d get around to playing it next spring…

    Oh well. Delays give developers more time to perfect their product. The gamer tends to win in the end.

  2. Yep…i think stranglehold is available right now, and i’ve played the demo, which kicks ass, but i would not be able to purchase it at this time. It’s a shame really, but Halo 3 really is the cats meow right now, and until im sick of it, i wont be getting anything else (well, i might get everyday shooter off the psn =)


Leave a Reply

Categories

