Posted by: pswi60 | October 14, 2007

Why Halo 3 is one of the greatest games ever

Halo 3I love Halo 3. Plain and simple. Originally the only console I had was the ps3, and I went 9 long months without a killer game that I could not put down.

Then, I went to a salvage shop in my town looking for some good deals. I asked the tech guy if they had any Xbox 360’s laying around, and they did…3 to be exact, all reported not to be working and returned by the customer. So I offered the guy $150 for it, and took a chance.

When I got home and realized that it worked, I went right out and purchased Gears of War. Boy, was I impressed. The models, the graphics, the gameplay, it really did live up to its hype. So over the next couple of weeks I played it and some other demos, and then pre-ordered Halo 3 from Best Buy.

I didn’t start playing Halo 3 until 9/27, mostly because I was busy with other things, like work, my family, etc..up until that point I had been reading all the press articles and fanfare, all the hype and regalia surrounding the game. Articles like “Why Halo 3 is not next gen”, “Avoid the campaign at all costs”, “Halo 3 only runs in 640”, etc..

It’s all garbage. Halo 3 is one of the best games I have ever played. The achievements are great, from the skulls, to the meta games, to the matchmaking, achievements like sword triple kill and 2 for 1 spartan laser… achievements that are difficult to get, and very rewarding when you do get them. The unlockable armor is really cool. Really, really cool.

The campaign mode is also alot of fun. Some say it’s short, others say “you go all the way thru the board, only to turn around an go back”. Let me ask you this: If you left your house right now to find the Holy Grail, where would you go after you found it? Home?

Who cares if some of the levels were re-used to make them longer. Its still great fun. From the Tanks on The Ark, rolling out to kill the scarab on The Covenant, to wart-hogging Tsavo highway, the campaign mode is great. The cut scenes are great. The graphics are great. And to top it all off, you get to do it with your buddies. And it’s easy as pie to setup. The only, and I mean only drawback, is that there is no matchmaking for the campaign, so say if you wanted to setup a meta game on Crow’s Nest, people cannot join up in your game, it has to be friends only. Which in turn can make getting some of the meta achievements difficult if you have to try it alone.

Another thing that makes Halo 3 great is the matchmaking. It is so easy to join a game. Remember constantly refreshing server lists to find a good game to join? That doesn’t happen anymore. You simply start matchmaking and you are playing. The only annoyance is that sometimes in the middle of a match, the system will find another host, pausing the action for a short time. But then you have the ranking and stat system, and the Bungie.net profiles, and it really makes for a complete online experience.

But here is where you see the games underlying qualities: Theatre Mode. Thats right. Why? because in theater mode, you can check out the last 25 games you’ve played, whether its campaign, online, or whatever, and look at the action from different angles, in slow motion, record clips, screenshots, and upload all of these things to your online profile. When you slow down the action in the movie mode, you really see how beautiful this game is, and how great the game engine is. From ricocheting bullets, to melee hits that send you flying, gunshot blasts, grenade explosions, lasers, vehicle hijacking, it all looks so great, that while playing it online, you miss how really well the game is put together. If you haven’t gone thru one of your movies yet, i highly recommend it.

I liken Halo 3 to a great President. At the time, during his or her term, you may not realize what mark they have left until much later, when history looks back on them. When history looks back on Halo 3, it will remember how great of a game it really is, and how all the small things worked together perfectly to create an almost perfect game.

For those curious, you can see my Halo 3 profile here.

Responses

  1. Theater mode is singlehandedly one of the best innovations of this generation. I often spend more time dissecting my replays than actually playing in matchmaking! The ability to create shareable films and screenshots (the latter of which can be retrieved from your Bungie.net profile online!) is second to none. Absolutely awesome.

  2. yep, it really is. my old lady hates video games, but she loves watching my matchmaking replays…go figure.

  3. Indeed, as one of my friends (who doesn’t play games but also likes replays and screenshots) said, “There’s a certain humor readily evident!”

    Anyway, as for the offer, sure, sounds good! (I wasn’t sure where to reply, so I figured this was the best place.)

  4. theatre mode is great

    campaign could have been better imo.. that flood level (2nd last) the worst

    multiplayer has high replay value..although i wish there for me in game achievments (see cod4)..and also unlockables

    few downsides:

    – matchmaking is ‘okay’…but no matchmaking for custom/forge/or camp. games..so if you don’t have xbox friends.. you have to make them. or you’re sol

  5. I AGREE ON HALO 3 BEING ONE OF THE BEST OF THE HALO TRILOGY…NOT ONLY ARE THE GRAPHICS OFF THE CHAIN BUT THE ONLINE PLAY IS SO MUCH MORE LEGIT…NO MORE STANDBYING…MODDING OR NONE OF THAT CRAP FROM HALO 2…I HAPPEN TO THINK THAT HALO IS THE FREAKIN BASE OF MLG AND HALF THE REASON IT WAS EVEN CREATED…ITS DEFF A TIGHT ASS GAME

  6. whats a steaktacular? (on his profile)

  7. it means luke owes you a steak dinner. when you beat other team with other team having less then 30 kills, your entire team gets steaktecular. check my profile.

  8. Nice review! Good job. thanks

  9. Thanks a lot for the review.

  10. Thanks for review!

  11. Good review, thanks!

  12. Hi admin, nice review!

  13. Good review, thank you so much.

  14. Halo 3 was great….until I played Resistance 2. The whole Resistance series (from 1-3) is so awesome and underrated that it beats Halo. Now, I’m no fangirl, but Resistance 3 needs some attention. Resistance 2’s storyline was so jaw-dropping! But here is what Resistance 1 and Halo 3 have in common: bad replay values. I only like playing Resistance 1 with my sister on 2 player, and I only enjoy Halo 3’s Forge, multiplayer and theatre. but Resistance 2 and Halo Reach are on-par with eachother, and both endings of Resistance 2 and Halo 3 were EPIC. Try Resistance 1, 2 and 3 and e-mail me your review of it or blog about it.

  15. he was so right, looking back now. Halo 3 was and always will be the most re-playable video game ever, and is the greatest innovation in computer gaming history, even if just for it’s shock value alone. MW3 has been out 23 days and im already bored of it. Bungie, people just don’t make games like they used to.


Leave a Reply

Categories

